Department of Physics

This Department started in 1984, has made rapid stride in achieving academic excellence and is at present premier institution for teaching and research in Physics, Materials Science and Electronics. 
The academic programmes of the Department have been designed to cater to the Science & Technology manpower requirements at national and international level. Major academic achievements of this Department are:- 

MOU with International academic Bodies. 

MOU with Intern University Consortium (UC) for DAE facilities. 

Special Assistance Programme (UGC) 

COSIST Programme (UGC) 

Sponsored projects of approx. 20 crores

Course Of Study

Course Name   : M.Sc.(Physics)

with specialization in Material Science/ Superconductivity/ Digital Electronics. 

Seats 30 
Duration  Two Year 
Eligibility B.Sc. with a minimum of 50% marks in Physics/ Chemistry/ Maths/ Electronics/ Statistics theory papers.
Course Name   : M.Tech (Material Science)
Seats 10
Duration One & Half year (three Sem.) 
Eligibility GATE or GATE equivalent examination conducted by the University, M.Sc/B.E(First Div). 
Course Name   : M.Phil (Physics)
Seats  20+5 
Duration  One Year 
Eligibility M.Sc Physics/Electronics with 55% Marks 


Ph. D. Programme

The Department offers Ph.D. Programme in various areas of Physics 
Space & Atmospheric Sciences. 
Plasma Physics. 
Computational Physics. 
Nano-materials/ Multi Layers 
Semiconductors Physics & Devices. 
Thin Film Technology. 
High Temperature Superconductivity. 
Condensed Matter Theory. 
Diluted Magnetic Semiconductors. 
CMR Materials. 
Eligibility- M.Sc. Physics/Electronics with First Div.